I lunged both today. At the start, Penny wanted to rear and head back towards her friends, but she didn't take long to get the general idea. I'll just keep at it till she's solid at it. I really wish I had a round pen. I would have liked to add some video I took of her, but turns out my "unlimited" internet means that I can spend as much time as I want on things like this, but heaven forbid I try to load a video over 1 minute, or more than 10 photos in a day. They actually shut down my internet connection for a while. I told them specifically that I wanted to be loading pics and videos of my horses when I paid the $500 to get the bloody thing set up. They could have told me then that uploading was a big no no. I wish I lived somewhere that the choices weren't satellite or dial up. Anyway, back to my horses.
I also dewormed today. Both get it done on a regular basis, so it wasn't a big deal to either of them. I use an ivomectin that a friend gets from the US (I'm Canadian), for like $3 a dose. I can do 12 horses for what it costs to do 2 if I had to buy dewormer from the local tack shop.
As for Hickory, he was a real pain. Actually took off while loping and pulled the lunge line right out of my hands. Yes, the dogs were barking their faces off at the foxes, but still, no need for that. So we went to the other pen and worked him till he was starting to sweat. If you have enough energy to mess around, you can just work some of it off buddy. After I got him working well, I stopped him and put him away. Hopefully tomorrow goes better.
Hickory
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment